Directory Services: The Swiss Army Knife of Configuration - Part 1

Hard Things

There are only two hard things in Computer Science: cache invalidation and naming things.

– Phil Karlton

Many computer problems boil down to: How do we configure things? Configuring things is a superset of naming things, so configuration can be a hard thing to figure out.

As a seasoned computer professional, I have spent much of my career dealing with this problem, sometimes called, “Configuration Hell.” I generally see two main solutions:

1. Convention Over Configuration.
    • We actually can design and implement solutions that minimize or eliminate configuration.
    • We actually can design and implement solutions that automatically configure things, can sense their environment, and generally do the right things.
  2. Directory Services.
    • When we must deal with configuration, of all the ways of designing and implementing any configuration solution, using Directory Services is by far my favorite.
    • My goal is to persuade you this should be your favorite too.

History

I have been writing software since 1970, so I can :yawning_face: you to death with the multifarious ways of configuring computer applications, systems, software, etc. I will spare you, and assume your imagination can give you a sense of this.

However, the universe of configuration ranges from flat text files, to formatted text files, to binary encoded text files, to active systems utilizing various kinds of database technology, etc. With so many options, how do we know what we want?

Knowledge

Fundamentally, all configuration issues, problems, and solutions boil down to Knowledge, so to appreciate configuration issues, we need to know about knowledge. There is an entire branch of philosophy dedicated to this called Epistemology, and it is the place to go to really know knowledge.

X.400

Why is he talking about e-mail? :thinking: