Running ForgeOps on Mac Silicone (M1, M2) using Docker with Rosetta

Originally posted on keithdaly-identity.medium.com

The shiny new laptop…

I recently upgraded my Mac laptop from Intel to Apple M1 Max (ARM). Faster and better, as per the specs. Cooler, as per Apple. Non-functional, as per some software that I need to run on it.

My day job is an engineer at ForgeRock where I need to be able to run local instances of our identity and access management platform, in addition to working with our cloud offering. Prior to this laptop upgrade, I simply deployed our “CDK” devOps package to my local minikube/docker without worrying much about the details of how these systems are set up.

With the M1, my minikube images no longer functioned, due to missing availability of amd64v8-compiled 3rd party components and docker drivers. This document walks through the steps needed to successfully deploy on Apple Silicon.

:exclamation:Note: While these instructions do work, the M1s are not officially supported by ForgeRock yet. Also, Rosetta is still a beta feature of Docker Desktop.

Step 1: Download ForgeOps Software

I am assuming that, if you are here, you have already attempted to download and deploy ForgeRock’s devOps software.

Here is the link, just in case: https://backstage.forgerock.com/docs/forgeops/7.3/cdk/minikube/setup/forgeops.htm

:exclamation:Note: Be sure to checkout the version stated in the docs. Otherwise, you will be on the main branch, which is used for development and, therefore, may change.

Step 2: Install 3rd party tools

At the time of writing, the ForgeRock docs show this set of pre-requisites for generic “Mac”:

Unfortunately, Hyperkit has not been ported to x64v8 yet. So, skip this component. Do install everything else.

Step 3: Deploy and configure Docker Desktop

I used brew for this step, but you could also get the binaries from docker.com.

% brew install --cask docker