What will be the login journey flow

I am new to forgerock system and learning have a very basic qns , how application communicate with a journey defined in Forgerock identity cloud .
user acess application (clientid=abc), and application triger the login journey url(/authenticate?loginjourney) of forgerock, forgerock throws login page to authenticate, once authenticated, how forgerock will know return the authorization code to application to further exchange for token.

This may sound silly qns basically trying to find the difference between standard authorization endpoint where clientid, redirect uri is trigger to start authentication and return code, where in case of authenticating through a parrticular journey endpioint is /authenticate?LoginJourney

1 Like

Hi,

There are basically two ways of orchestrating an OAuth2/OIDC flow.

• Orchestrated by the client app - using an embedded, native login flow: the app authenticate, and upon receiving the SSO token, initiates the OAuth2/OIDC flow. It’s all REST calls in the SPA, native app.

• Orchestrated by the OAuth2 provider. This flow is better suited for web portals. The client initiates the authorisation flow. The OAuth2 provider redirects the user for authentication, once the user is authenticated, it is redirected - via the goto URL in the parameters which must be processed by the login app - to complete the authorisation flow. The following artefacts contribute to the selection of the login journey:

• The default login journey setup in the realm.
    • acr mappings in OIDC provider configuration
    • Custom Login URL template configured in the OAuth2 provider (or client configuration override).

Regards
Patrick

1 Like

In addition, I would suggest going through the below Postman collection and configuring it against your IDCloud tenant. There’s a directory with requests for OAuth2 which can help you understand available endpoints and how the flow works in IDCloud.